May 30, 2011

Hangover Part 2 Review -- Three Stars
— Ace

Couple of biases: 1, I thought the first one was okay but to this day do not understand what the fuss was all about. I thought the first film's premise was stronger than its actual execution. I was expecting an almost mystery-like plot as they retraced their steps, such that finding out what happened would be exciting as well funny, but I didn't think they really did that. There weren't any sudden comic pieces-coming-together realizations or intersecting plot lines (a la Seinfeld); they mostly just retraced their steps. Funny enough, but not clever, I thought, and nowhere near as funny, or wild, or I-can't-believe-what-I'm-seeing as others seemed to think.

2, I've been stuck looking at a dude's dirty gray drawers for two days and he's not even hot. So I was primed to laugh.

So my expectations were pretty modest and I was a good audience for the movie. That said, I thought it was better than the first one, at least a half-star better.

On the plot, yes it's a nearly-beat-for-beat rewrite of the last plot, but, what could be expected? That plot wound up being a surprise smash, and that plot is the entire franchise, so you betcha, this plot follows the last one's major beats. They got out the stopwatch and timed the beats from the first movie. I can't blame them. If I had this assignment, I would have gotten out the stopwatch myself.

There are differences, though. The first Hangover began the "hangover" plot of the movie with a slow pan over a super-luxe Vegas hotel room, displaying the comedic aftermath of a night of really really hard partying, including an abandoned baby, a chicken (do I remember that right?), and of course a Bengal tiger. Funny, but almost funny in a Mad Libs sort of way -- let me top you next with my crazy aftermath item, then you top me, then we write it into a scene. Silly and funny, but kind of light-hearted, despite the desperate circumstances the movie suggests they're in.

The "hangover" plot here starts a dingy, roach-infested Bangkok hovel, and the vibe here is less Tom Hanks' Bachelor Party Turned Up to 11 and more Hostel 3: Bangkok Limbhackers. It's not as funny, not in a laugh out loud way, but to me it's a little funnier, because it's so dark: Okay, last time was just some fun and games, but this time they're really in a bad way. To me, at least, turning up the grimness and darkness was actually kind of funny, not because I'm so dark-hearted, but because now I felt that edge of genuine danger and calamity I thought the last one was trying for, but pulling punches on.

I think the vibe they were going for was "Urban Legend" -- like "A man wakes up in a tub full of ice to discover his kidney is missing..." That sort of dark opening. And, in patches, it does get a little worse than that.

There's a flip-side to this, though: As far as content, the entire movie goes far further into sickness and darkness and just plain awfulness than the first movie. Funnier, I think, but stronger than usual hard-R content warning for a nearly unrelenting indulgence in every crime and depravity known to man. I have edited that word in-- "depravity" -- thoughtfully. It applies.

Funny? Yes. I laughed consistently throughout it. And, as I said, there really was a pall of danger over the proceedings, and anything awful could happen at any moment, so the movie had the feel of a thriller, too, with genuine moments of shock. And relief.

Although I didn't realize I liked the characters from the first one all that much, it turns out I guess I did, because from the first moments of seeing "The Wolfpack" back together again I felt a nice feeling of good-to-see-them-again. Bradley Cooper has sharpened up his character some, as the guy who thinks he's pretty damn cool, and actually is pretty damn cool, but he's not nearly cool enough to get away with the substance abuse he's indulging in; Ed Helms, too, as the safe, bland guy who under no circumstances wants to go back to that hell again.

Chuckles here and there and Ed Helms makes various pronouncements about what will not be happening in the future, because, of course, we've seen the trailer. We know how terribly wrong he is.

Zak Galifanakis is good, but not as good as in the first outing, where the character was a surprise original, and on top of that, I don't think they've given him lines that are equally as funny. I can't remember anything quotable like "reh-tard." He is still funny though. More of a matter of him losing 10% off his game while the other two elevate by 10%.

One disappointment for me was that they didn't work Doug into the movie this time, and they could have. I guess I just felt bad for Doug, the actor himself, sort of getting short-shrift in a surprise blockbuster, and had expected them to work him more into this one; but, in fact, I'm pretty damn confident there's less of him. Just seems unfair. And it might have been a little funny to have Doug along, who did not go through the horror-hangover plot of the last film, seeing what this is like, while the other three -- now old hands at this -- say things like, "Yeah, this happens."

One minor thing is that I really wanted a certain horrible thing to be fixed at the end, or undone, or demonstrated to have been not as bad as assumed; they didn't do that, but left the horrible thing as the horrible thing. Ah well.

The closing pictures of the night's events contain, again, some of the biggest laughs in the movie, and I think they might have outdone themselves from last time.

Overall: I think this is minority opinion, because I was in the minority last time of not thinking the first Hangover was so great, but I think this one is better. But it is pretty darned dark for a comedy -- not just raunchy, but dark -- and isn't for everyone.

Here's the Difference, I Think: In the first one, I felt there was a sitcom-y, gaggy nature to the proceedings. This is naturally sort of reassuring, in that it's distancing; you're aware this is a goof, so it's not really serious.

That helps people deal with the awfulness, that feeling of unreality.

I think this one pushes away from comic unreality more towards naturalistic/horror reality -- not all the way there, of course; this is still a comedy -- and that makes it darker, more dramatic (in the sense that this feels more playing-for-keeps and less madcap-romp), and for me, funnier, because I thought the humor was more rooted in reality.

On the other hand, there's less of that reassuring distancing, so if you're put off by awful material, there's less comfort that this is just a gaggy movie.

And there is some awful material here. If the question is "Would you recommend this to your mom?," the answer is no, I would not recommend this to my mom or yours or anyone's.

Reconsidering/Re-Warning on Content: Dr Spank and others remind me that despite my being down on the first Hangover -- liked it, didn't love it -- there really was a lot of funny material there. And it was, overall, cheerier.

So maybe this one isn't funnier. I think this one is more desperate and grounded in a dark reality. Maybe as funny, or nearly the same level. Others find the first funnier.

And I also think that I should offer a stronger warning than I had. Without wishing to tell you the exact nature of the material here (that would spoil jokes), I will note the original featured drugs and prostitution. This is a sequel. The rule of a sequel is "bigger," or, for this type of movie, more extreme.

And I do not want to give spoilers, but let me stress there is very objectionable, raw, hard-R material here that may upset some.

For the sequel, they had to go further, and they did.

What the hell they could do in the next one, short of amputation or forced gender reassignment surgery, I have no idea.

I guess Martin Lawrence says it best, as he says everything best.

Posted by: Ace at 02:33 PM | Comments (127)
Post contains 1425 words, total size 8 kb.

1 sorry ace you finally got everyone all wienered-up.  Now you can do the weiner thing, that everyone's fired up about the weiner.

Posted by: tangonine at May 30, 2011 02:35 PM (x3YFz)

2 chicken (do I remember that right?)

Yes.  In fact, IIRC, that was the only thing whose presence was not explained at all, either by exposition or the photo montage at the end.

Posted by: Kratos (Ghost of Sparta) at May 30, 2011 02:35 PM (tcGv3)

3 Made a ton of money on it's opening weekend.I think we wil be seeing a Hangover 3.Unfortunately.

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 02:42 PM (GCjGG)

4 Yeah, someone hacked into our editing software and put in some bad clips. We've got some lawyers to advise us on this.

Posted by: Todd Phillips at May 30, 2011 02:44 PM (FcR7P)

5 I know I'm kind of a milquetoast and a lightweight, but the tattoo thing seems kind of scary to me.

Posted by: Kensington at May 30, 2011 02:45 PM (uaEZS)

6

On the plot, yes it's a nearly-beat-for-beat rewrite of the last plot, but, what could be expected? That plot wound up being a surprise smash, and that plot is the entire franchise, so you betcha, this plot follows the last one's major beats.

If you want a sequel to be financially successful, generally for comedies, you don't want to deviate too much from what made the first film a success (i.e. don't fix what's not broken).  Meet the Fockers is an example of this premise. 

Posted by: Kratos (Ghost of Sparta) at May 30, 2011 02:46 PM (tcGv3)

7 sorry ace you finally got everyone all wienered-up. Now you can do the weiner thing, that everyone's fired up about the weiner.

Posted by: tangonine at May 30, 2011 07:35 PM (x3YFz)

As Ace goes -- SO GOES THE NATION!

Posted by: Oldcat at May 30, 2011 02:46 PM (CN+Qv)

8 I lost a lot of goodwill for the franchise when the cast refused to work with Mel Gibson(it could have been hilarious too).Galafanakis is a douche too,though I picture ace as him.(appearance wise)

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 02:46 PM (GCjGG)

9 Hostel 3: Bangkok Limbhackers

Don't give Eli Roth any ideas! 

Posted by: Kratos (Ghost of Sparta) at May 30, 2011 02:48 PM (tcGv3)

10 I thought Galifanakis stole the show in the original, odd he's less funny in this one.

Posted by: Dr Spank at May 30, 2011 02:49 PM (1fB+3)

11 Tell Galifanakis that I want my shtick back.

Posted by: Zombie John Belushi at May 30, 2011 02:50 PM (uaEZS)

12 If you want a sequel to be financially successful, generally for comedies, you don't want to deviate too much from what made the first film a success (i.e. don't fix what's not broken).  Meet the Fockers is an example of this premise.

Meet the Fockers sucked.  Huge disappointment and it made it impossible to see any sequels.  Wasn't funny and it had Babs in it.  Ugh.

Posted by: soulpile is...expendable, s.a. at May 30, 2011 02:51 PM (afWhQ)

13 Galifanakis has been one of the few decent hosts on SNL the last few years.

Not that that's saying much.  But still.  He made me lol and shit.

Posted by: Mister Christopher at May 30, 2011 02:52 PM (/BUPU)

14 Ace: "...a nearly unrelenting indulgence in every crime and taboo known to man."

So, any Twittering of penes? Not that I'm interested-interested or anything.

Posted by: AnonymousDrivel at May 30, 2011 02:54 PM (1yViP)

15 Well, Ace, while you were gone, WE'VE gone from Weiner I - The Hackers to Weiner II - The Pranksters. Not much difference between the two, other than the introduction of a few new characters. A legal team. Enjoy.

Posted by: Joejm65 at May 30, 2011 02:55 PM (BDB5n)

16 I guess this means you didn't go see Phantom today.

Posted by: the Charlie Daniels of the torque wrench at May 30, 2011 02:55 PM (le5qc)

17 I thought the first one was meh. Got better with subsequent viewings. Was going to wait to Redbox Hangover 2. Now, I'm conflicted. Ace is usually reliable for movie reviews. (Does not include Wicker Man)

Posted by: osoloco at May 30, 2011 02:57 PM (dpAW/)

18 Nice, informative review, one where the review might be more interesting than the movie it describes, and it describes what sounds like a pretty interesting movie. 

Posted by: Tonawanda at May 30, 2011 02:58 PM (fgysf)

19 17 He LIKED Wicker Man?(the remake??)

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 02:59 PM (GCjGG)

20 THE BEES! THE BEES!

Posted by: Nick Cage at May 30, 2011 03:01 PM (fMQqT)

21 The remake of The Wicker Man, with Nicolas Cage, falls into the "it's so bad it's hilarious" file.  Especially if you like seeing Cage beating up (and being beat up) by women. 

Posted by: Kratos (Ghost of Sparta) at May 30, 2011 03:04 PM (tcGv3)

22 >>> He LIKED Wicker Man?(the remake??) My blog was hacked. I've retained counsel to advise me on my "next steps." No I still think that movie was good and will fight to my last breath on that. Well, no I won't.

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:04 PM (nj1bB)

23

This movie is suck+.  Multiple gratuitous scenes of male frontal nudity should tell you everything you need to know about this crap script.  The Zak dude couldn't be stupider or unfunnier.  Read the Yahoo user reviews which I've never seen so consistently heavily negative.  And most were fans of the first movie. My showing was packed and basically quiet throughout.  Don't waste your time or your money.

Steevy at #8 is dead on with his comments also.

Posted by: VinylMan at May 30, 2011 03:04 PM (qRxfv)

24 >>>Multiple gratuitous scenes of male frontal nudity should tell you everything you need to know about this crap script. The penis-shock joke may or may not be gratuitous. I thin it's less gratuitous than starting to get worn out; from Something About Mary, to Forgetting Sarah Marshall, to Hall Pass (yup, big shock penis there) and now in this one. That said, I do think it paid that stuff off. I guess I should say "If you don't want to see a penis, don't see this movie." I'm trying to hint about this with the "dark" description without giving away specific material.

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:07 PM (nj1bB)

25 Now that you've cleared your mind somewhat , I'm thinking there might be some real money in an internet match- dating site for politicians and their eager young worshippers          eCongressman.com

Posted by: the Charlie Daniels of the torque wrench at May 30, 2011 03:08 PM (le5qc)

26 heh. I think they already have that; they call it Twitter.

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:08 PM (nj1bB)

27

I've talked to 5 or 6 people who saw it and said they were disappointed.  They didn't think it was as funny as the first one.  That said, I will rent it, but won't go see it.

Has anybody seen Frozen?  God in Heaven, watched that last week.  Talk about depressing.

Posted by: jewells45 at May 30, 2011 03:09 PM (Z71Vg)

28 As my review said several times: It's *dark.* A word I wanted to work in was "depraved." I'll edit that in now.

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:09 PM (nj1bB)

29 Depravity.  Now we're talkin'.

Posted by: Mister Christopher at May 30, 2011 03:10 PM (/BUPU)

30 Imagine how funny a Mel Gibson cameo could have been.Just the possibility of him uttering a line ending with"....but first,you will blow me."But nooo,PC bullshit killed it.

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:10 PM (GCjGG)

31 28 Yeah,depraved is better.It would be "dark" if it included dead tranny hookers.

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:11 PM (GCjGG)

32 A word I wanted to work in was "depraved." I'll edit that in now.

Decadent?   

Posted by: Kratos (Ghost of Sparta) at May 30, 2011 03:12 PM (tcGv3)

33 Not only is there no Mel Gibson, but then there was a rumor they were getting Bill Clinton; that fell through. I expected some major cameo to fill in the hole there. There isn't. I never saw the guy playing the tattoo artist before. No Nick Nolte, no stunt casting like that. The guy is fine in the role (it's a minor role), but based on that controversy I was expecting a Great Big Cameo. It's not there.

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:13 PM (nj1bB)

34 Speaking of Mel Gibson, and "dark comedy", has anyone seen "The Beaver"? I want to know if it's something I absolutely need to see.

Posted by: Sassy at May 30, 2011 03:14 PM (A7gST)

35 "I guess I should say "If you don't want to see a penis, don't see this movie." Well, I definately won't be taking my Aunt to see this then. I talked her into seeing Hall Pass with me and she is still telling everyone from my cousins to the ladies at her china painting class how I made her see "A PENIS MOVIE!!!"

Posted by: Joanie (Oven Gloves) at May 30, 2011 03:16 PM (y/+eD)

36

I didn't find the first one all that funny.

I don't get why this is such a big deal.

 

 I counted about 4-5 times where I actually laughed out loud during the first film.

 

I doubt I'll see the second one, even on video.

Posted by: Ben at May 30, 2011 03:16 PM (DKV43)

37 SPOLIERS

SPOILERS

SPOILERS

I thought the first Hangover was one of the funniest movies I'd seen in years. It slowed down in the 2nd half, but the first half killed me and Zack G. killed me.

This one was a good movie, with some funny bits, but nothing that made me laugh out loud. I kept waiting for Zack G. to say something hilarious, and instead he said stuff that was pretty funny.

They didn't payoff the Teddy bit at all. Even though they set it up. World class cello musician, future surgeon -- all now gone with the missing finger. The father should have freaked out, with Teddy relieved that his future is now wide open, he's free to live his own life and not his father's dreams. They must have filmed a blowoff scene for that, but couldn't make it work -- mainly cause the Teddy kid wasn't a very good actor. He should have been horrified, but relieved about his finger. Instead they showed him mellow and mildly relieved about his finger. And his father just ignored it, even though they made a point at the start that Teddy and his future career was the pride and joy of the father.

The whole ass rape thing was just too gross for me. And the Interpol bit was boring and not funny. Also Chao kept losing his accent, which was a bit distracting.

One thing I though was funny was the re-enactment of the famous Vietnam photo of the guy being executed on the street and shot in the head. Pretty ballsy to have Cooper and the Mr. Chao character re-enact that. (It was in the photo montage at the end.)

It was a more clever movie than the first and more complicated. But not nearly as funny, and it lacked especially in the big laughs. But I loved the first one mainly cause of Zack G.

Posted by: Clubber Lang at May 30, 2011 03:16 PM (QcFbt)

38 hey hey hey spoiley mcspoilerson!!!

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:17 PM (nj1bB)

39

Imagine how funny a Mel Gibson cameo could have been.Just the possibility of him uttering a line ending with"....but first,you will blow me."But nooo,PC bullshit killed it.

 

Zack Galificomesfromabankruptcountry is the reason Mel wasn't in it if I'm not mistaken.

He said he wouldn't do the film with Mel was in it if I remember correctly.

Posted by: Ben at May 30, 2011 03:18 PM (DKV43)

40 Without referencing it, as I don't do spoilers, I agree with Clubber Lang that the photographic moment he mentions was maybe the funniest in the film. By the way, I was just going to parody that myself. I am doing this video project, which got sidetracked due to wienergate, and we were going to do that picture, parodied. It turns out it's as fucking funny as I thought it was going to be. But can't do it now.

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:19 PM (nj1bB)

41

It's pretty clear that with this opening weekend that there will be a Hangover Part 3 sometime next year

Posted by: Ben at May 30, 2011 03:21 PM (DKV43)

42 I contacted George Orwell about doing that photoshop for me but I don't think he saw the email. Since then we've moved away from my idea of it being really dark and more into gaggy stuff.

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:21 PM (nj1bB)

43 Sorry for the spoilers. Figured it was ok in the comments. Should have had a spoiler warning in there. I'd edit that if I could.

Posted by: Clubber Lang at May 30, 2011 03:21 PM (QcFbt)

44 Hey Clubber, Kaiser Soze is Kevin Spacey.

Posted by: Dr Spank at May 30, 2011 03:21 PM (1fB+3)

45 39 If it was him that just makes me dislike him more.

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:22 PM (GCjGG)

46 I always thought  that famous Vietnam war photo of the naked little girl whose clothes were burned away by napalm was ripe for parody.

Posted by: Ben at May 30, 2011 03:22 PM (DKV43)

47 Yeah,Clubber,and that chick in The Crying Game?A dude.

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:23 PM (GCjGG)

48 this movie review needs more cowbell

Posted by: SantaRosaStan, a Leading Indicator at May 30, 2011 03:24 PM (UqKQV)

49 46 Just Photoshop Nancy Kerrigan's head(when her leg was injured) on to her body.That's gold.

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:25 PM (GCjGG)

50 What the movie definitely lacked -- this is not a spolier, as I'm telling you it's NOT in the movie -- was a sequence like the "video camera footage at Mike Tyson's place, stealing, and humping, the tiger." That was a very funny part. There's some video footage here, but it's not like that, not funny-goofy. The video footage here is funny-crazy, like "holy shit look at this crazy shit they did."

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:25 PM (nj1bB)

51 The Osama joke in the 1st movie was hilarious.

Posted by: Dr Spank at May 30, 2011 03:26 PM (1fB+3)

52 Ace, was there a David Carradine reference in the film?

Posted by: Ben at May 30, 2011 03:26 PM (DKV43)

53 Geez. I go away for a few days and I come back and it's wieners, winners, and wankers.

God rest those winners, by the way, and thank you.

The right-o-spere usually tracks pretty close to what's going on here at the HQ, but not this weekend. No "motorcycles"; no Obama, chewing gum; and no terror or sports updates.

Posted by: K~Bob at May 30, 2011 03:27 PM (Dw34e)

54 np clubber, I forgot I could edit it. I added spoiler warnings. Anyone who wants to review specific plot and gag details please use a SPOILER heading, three of them, that works.

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:27 PM (nj1bB)

55 They've already made the dark dark Vegas party movie that is actually funny. It's called Very Bad Things.

Posted by: the dandy at May 30, 2011 03:27 PM (1h53u)

56 >>>Ace, was there a David Carradine reference in the film? No.

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:28 PM (nj1bB)

57 >>>It's called Very Bad Things. never saw it, but keep hearing it referenced, esp. with regard to the Hangover, like, "I liked it the first time when it was called Very Bad Things."

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:28 PM (nj1bB)

58 56 Oh yeah,I recall that now.

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:29 PM (GCjGG)

59 I guess I just felt bad for Doug, the actor himself, sort of getting short-shrift in a surprise blockbuster, and had expected them to work him more into this one; but, in fact, I'm pretty damn confident there's less of him.

I haven't seen it, but I've seen enough scenes to think I will wait till it's on DVD and I watch it with bro, or I catch it on demand, but I DID want to have doug be the big trouble maker, with some progression in the characters.

If _I_ had this gig?  or at least if I had input, I would have turned Helms' character into Cooper, someone who after "the last time" can just laugh stuff off, while Cooper, becomes ed's character, a little overbearing and worried thinking that this time it was his fault.    Zack's character would have been the oblivious problem solver rather than the oblivious idiot, and Doug would have taken zack's position as the background guy who did nothing but complain.

And the biggest problem with "the hangover" the first one, and undoubtedly present in this one, it really didn't have a heart.  I'm not a fan of appatow, if you listen to the commentaries, almost EVERY time you see a scene that is funny, and made you laugh in an appatow film you hear "didn't you come up with that on like the 12th shot?"  So Appatows genius is that he has a basic plot with heart, and then lets everyone do whatever they want.    The hangover had that same sort of feal, minus the heart.

Posted by: Douglas at May 30, 2011 03:29 PM (YKOnu)

60 Oh yeah, nice review.  I guess it's a movie or something. I wasn't paying very close attention to those details.

Posted by: K~Bob at May 30, 2011 03:30 PM (Dw34e)

61 The headlines at Big Government are like "Weinerpalooza".

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:30 PM (GCjGG)

62 actually now that dr spank mentions the osama joke, I am starting to remember a lot of the gags that landed in the first one. It was maybe funnier than I remember. Maybe I was expecting too much.

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:31 PM (nj1bB)

63

>>>It's called Very Bad Things.

ahh I remember that film. It is a lot like The Hangover.

I think Jermey Piven was in it if I recall. The way they killed the hooker by accident was  really creepy.

Posted by: Ben at May 30, 2011 03:31 PM (DKV43)

64 the vibe here is less Tom Hanks' Bachelor Party Turned Up to 11 and more Hostel 3: Bangkok Limbhackers. Dude, that's the main reason in my mind you need to keep flogging the Weiner. You're building your brand and more people need to read professional grade funneh instead of what every hack reviewer out there does: making comparisons to Kurosawa's films, no matter what the fucking movie was about. Yes, slapdick. We're aware you went to film school and sipped cappucino and penis while reading subtitles through your square-framed glasses. Do me a favor, Egon: go over there and wring out Ebert's drool bib. Sumbitch is gettin' close to saturated from that drippy vagina flappy mouth.

Posted by: Empire of Jeff at May 30, 2011 03:32 PM (hlY6R)

65 I went and saw it yesterday, and didn't think it was as funny as the original but still had laugh out loud moments.  The audience in the theater I saw it in were laughing non-stop and all the comments I heard going out the door were positive.  I guess it is just one of those love it or hate it movies.

Oh and since it is Memorial Day I will point out that the actress who plays Kimmy, the girl at samir's strip club, is a Navy veteran.

Posted by: chad at May 30, 2011 03:32 PM (WNcvq)

66 48 Yeah,Clubber,and that chick in The Crying Game?A dude.

That police-chick Lieutenant in Ace Venutra?  Totally a dude! 

Posted by: Kratos (Ghost of Sparta) at May 30, 2011 03:32 PM (tcGv3)

67 That photo thing is funny, but not laugh out loud funny. More shock taboo-busting funny, the "I-can't-believe-you- just-re-enacted-one-of- the-most-famous-photos-about-the-brutality-of-war-as-a-joke" reaction.

So people with dark senses of humor find it funny (a small minority, and those people tend to be self-styled comedians themselves and it's more a reaction of admiration) and everybody else has the shocked "ooooh" reaction. I imagine most people won't even get it, though.

In the first movie everything about meeting the Zack G. character and his initial interactions with the guys just killed me. The whole wolfpack speech. I couldn't stop laughing the first time I saw it. He just hit a perfect combination of aggressive awkwardness in the first film.

Posted by: Clubber Lang at May 30, 2011 03:32 PM (QcFbt)

68 Very Bad Things, a GREAT black comedy.  I should pick that up on DVD.

Posted by: Mister Christopher at May 30, 2011 03:33 PM (/BUPU)

69 Very Bad Things is VERY dark.  They aren't kidding with that title.  From what I've read about the Hangover films (basically full synopses), they've got nothing on the severity of Very Bad Things.

It's not a great film, by any means, but it's worth watching.  I especially appreciate that they don't back down from taking the story to some very bad places.

Posted by: Kensington at May 30, 2011 03:34 PM (uaEZS)

70
never saw it, but keep hearing it referenced, esp. with regard to the Hangover, like, "I liked it the first time when it was called Very Bad Things.


You've got to check it out. Christian Slater as the wild-party organizer, great cast overall. Takes a sharp and wicked turn into darkness but is hilarious throughout.

Posted by: the dandy at May 30, 2011 03:34 PM (1h53u)

71

I saw the Hangover after having several friends rave over and over again about it, about how soda pop was shooting out of their noses it was so funny. I don't know, maybe that spoiled it for me but I thought it was kind of dumb and the characters annoyed me. Plus, as mentioned on the Bridesmaids review thread, I'm not big on all the barf/shit/blood/cum style humor in today's movies so movies with that kind of humor are lost on me.

So, I appreciate Ace's review and Clubber Lang's spoilers, and will pass on giving the movie money in the theater and wait until it is on one of the premium channels and I'm too drunk or lazy to change the channel.

Posted by: ParanoidWorkingGirlinSeattle at May 30, 2011 03:35 PM (RZ8pf)

72 Without doing spoilers, clubber, the photo you mean was the button on a series of jokes. The images immediately before that were very funny too; do you remember the sequence? (Trying to to mention what it involved.) Now, having used those images, to button it, they had to push it further, and they did, and I laughed.

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:35 PM (nj1bB)

73 Very Bad Things only $5.99 on Amazon.  A bargain at twice the price.

Posted by: Mister Christopher at May 30, 2011 03:37 PM (/BUPU)

74 That guy that is in the famous(infamous) execution picture?He really had it coming.The MFM twisted that whole fucking conflict.I'll never forgive them.

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:37 PM (GCjGG)

75 Saw Kellys Heroes on AMC today.  I liked it a little less than when I saw it last.  Rickles came across a little more whiney bitch than I remembered from last time and Donald Sutherland was almost unwatchable.  His hippy dippy schtick was so out of place for this WWII epic that I have expected Carroll O'Connor to start calling him Meathead.  Overall I give it 3 Twittered Stiffys.  They do not make movies like this any longer and we are worse off for it.

Posted by: Truck Monkey at May 30, 2011 03:37 PM (yQWNf)

76 Apollo Creed DIES?!!! FUCK you, Clubber.

Posted by: Empire of Jeff at May 30, 2011 03:37 PM (hlY6R)

77

I was hacked. Will retain legal counsel at tax payer expense. I am not a horny "above the law" congress person. Really. Not.

 

Posted by: Democreep at May 30, 2011 03:37 PM (0fzsA)

78 75 David Halberstam sucks cocks in hell.

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:37 PM (GCjGG)

79

Posted by: Truck Monkey at May 30, 2011 08:37 PM (yQWNf)

God, my dad loved that movie (because of the song).

Posted by: jewells45 at May 30, 2011 03:39 PM (Z71Vg)

80 Hey Clubber,at the end of Planet of the Apes we find out that Taylor was actually ON EARTH the whole time.

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:39 PM (GCjGG)

81 Breitbart hacked me and put the spoilers in. I've since retained legal counsel and am investigating my options.

Posted by: Clubber Lang at May 30, 2011 03:40 PM (QcFbt)

82

Hey ace, was Howard Kurtz in it? He is a comedian now.

He'res what he had to say about the media taking sides on weiner gate.

HowardKurtz

  Those who say media give Dems benefit of doubt with sex scandals: Uh, Edwards, Spitzer, Clinton, McGreevey, etc. etc.?

Posted by: robtr at May 30, 2011 03:42 PM (MtwBb)

83 Also the thing Breitbart's hackers spoiled isn't like some huge secret finale reveal. You find out about in the first 5 minutes. You just kind of hope they can somehow fix it.

Posted by: Clubber Lang at May 30, 2011 03:42 PM (QcFbt)

84 77 Apollo Creed DIES?!!!

FUCK you, Clubber.

Apollo Creed didn't die at the hands of Clubber Lang.  That was just a cover so Creed could be recruited into the CIA and hunt Predators in Val Verde. 

Posted by: Kratos (Ghost of Sparta) at May 30, 2011 03:43 PM (tcGv3)

85 Well, I definately won't be taking my Aunt to see this then. I talked her into seeing Hall Pass with me and she is still telling everyone from my cousins to the ladies at her china painting class how I made her see "A PENIS MOVIE!!!"

Posted by: Joanie (Oven Gloves) at May 30, 2011 08:16 PM (y/+eD)

Maybe she has worn that one out and needs something new to talk about for the next few years.

Posted by: Oldcat at May 30, 2011 03:44 PM (CN+Qv)

86 My mom was kind of liking Ron Burgundy and than they got to the erection scene.That was it for her.

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:45 PM (GCjGG)

87 81 Hey Clubber,at the end of Planet of the Apes we find out that Taylor was actually ON EARTH the whole time.

When they re-released the original Planet of the Apes, the cover art for the DVD gave away the ending for the movie.  Real lame there, guys. 

Posted by: Kratos (Ghost of Sparta) at May 30, 2011 03:45 PM (tcGv3)

88 Spoiler Alert : Date Night is not funny.

Posted by: Dr Spank at May 30, 2011 03:45 PM (1fB+3)

89 I have updated again to re-stress that they go pretty damn far with the extreme shock material here.

Posted by: ace at May 30, 2011 03:46 PM (nj1bB)

90 Predator 2 was awful.

Posted by: blaster at May 30, 2011 03:46 PM (Fw2Gg)

91 86 Well, I definately won't be taking my Aunt to see this then. I talked her into seeing Hall Pass with me and she is still telling everyone from my cousins to the ladies at her china painting class how I made her see "A PENIS MOVIE!!!"

Posted by: Joanie (Oven Gloves) at May 30, 2011 08:16 PM (y/+eD)


just saw that at the second-run theater pub. Thought it was pretty good, penis scene aside. Damn did they let that camera linger. Made up for it with the Aussie honey's cans late in the flick.

Posted by: the dandy at May 30, 2011 03:47 PM (1h53u)

92 Finny Dies

Posted by: garrett at May 30, 2011 03:47 PM (9XqDa)

93 Maybe she has worn that one out and needs something new to talk about for the next few years. She wore a penis out? What's her number?

Posted by: blaster at May 30, 2011 03:47 PM (Fw2Gg)

94 The Rambo First Blood series went downhill after the original too.  The first film was art, in the truest sense. 

Posted by: Truck Monkey at May 30, 2011 03:48 PM (yQWNf)

95 91 Oh yeah,Danny Glover and global warming.It blew big time.

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:48 PM (GCjGG)

96 88 Yeah but doesn't EVERYBODY know that twist by now?

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:49 PM (GCjGG)

97 91 Predator 2 was awful.

Seeing Danny Glover over-act with his Murtaugh routine from Lethal Weapon in Predator 2 was fun though.  Too bad the Predator itself sucked balls.

/Just found out the other day that Adam Baldwin has a few brief scenes in Predator 2.  Geez, this guy is in more movies than I thought. 

Posted by: Kratos (Ghost of Sparta) at May 30, 2011 03:51 PM (tcGv3)

98 AMC had on "The Longest Day"  Now it's "Midway."

Spoiler alert: The good guys win.

Posted by: K~Bob at May 30, 2011 03:51 PM (Dw34e)

99 98 When you look at any actors complete credits you always go"he was in THAT?".

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:52 PM (GCjGG)

100

What the hell they could do in the next one, short of amputation or forced gender reassignment surgery, I have no idea.

Next time they could get drunk and accidentally sell the bride to a saudi sheik and then have to go on a killing rampage through Paris ala Taken to get her back and save the wedding.


Posted by: chad at May 30, 2011 03:53 PM (WNcvq)

101 "She wore a penis out? What's her number?" She's 82. Yeah go for it! 555-7788

Posted by: Joanie (Oven Gloves) at May 30, 2011 03:53 PM (y/+eD)

102 98 You know the original Predator was suppposed to be a nimble and monkey like alien played by Jean Claude Vandamme?They realized it wasn't looking convincing so they brought in Stan Winston to completely revamp it.If you read he novelization you can see the difference.

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:54 PM (GCjGG)

103 In Hangover 3 I expect the Dental dork will have to gouge out his own eye and feed it to Zack G. and later get skull-raped by Chao. Maybe have a giant black dong surgically transplanted to his face.

They are just going to re-enact Hannibal and the Saw franchise -- just with more penises and with Zack G. doing his Asperger's laugh at irregular intervals. You know, to make it funny.

Posted by: Clubber Lang at May 30, 2011 03:54 PM (QcFbt)

104 867-5309

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 03:55 PM (GCjGG)

105 AMC had on "The Longest Day" Now it's "Midway."

Spoiler alert: The good guys win.

Posted by: K~Bob at May 30, 2011 08:51 PM (Dw34e)

Rike Herr they do

Posted by: Flight Leader Tomononga at May 30, 2011 03:57 PM (CN+Qv)

106 I personally love spoilers (thanks Clubber) because that way I know whether or not to bother with the movie.  I can handle depravity, but I have my limits.  I'll pass on this one (thanks again Clubber!).  There's nothing worse than what would otherwise be a good  movie ruined by one unnecessarily overdone bit of depravity (see also:  1998's Happiness, an awesome movie UNTIL...).

Posted by: Beth at May 30, 2011 03:58 PM (5NfIh)

107 Mr. Miyagi is in it.

Posted by: K~Bob at May 30, 2011 03:59 PM (Dw34e)

108 104 98 You know the original Predator was suppposed to be a nimble and monkey like alien played by Jean Claude Vandamme?They realized it wasn't looking convincing so they brought in Stan Winston to completely revamp it.If you read he novelization you can see the difference.

I did read that, thanks. 

They also wanted a more physically-imposing actor to play the Predator.  Kevin Peter Hall was 7'2", 'nuff said. 

Posted by: Kratos (Ghost of Sparta) at May 30, 2011 03:59 PM (tcGv3)

109 Has anyone seen Super with Rainn Wilson?

Posted by: Dr Spank at May 30, 2011 04:00 PM (1fB+3)

110

There were no good war films on today besides a Bridge Too Far.

I'm pissed that Spike TV didn't play a BoB marathon.

 

Posted by: Ben at May 30, 2011 04:00 PM (DKV43)

111 Here's another spoiler - Darth Vader is Luke Skywalker's father. 

Posted by: Kratos (Ghost of Sparta) at May 30, 2011 04:02 PM (tcGv3)

112 " (see also: 1998's Happiness, an awesome movie UNTIL...)." Oh God WHY!?

Posted by: Joanie (Oven Gloves) at May 30, 2011 04:06 PM (y/+eD)

113 The incomplete Death Star in Return of the Jedi?FULLY OPERATIONAL!!

Posted by: steevy at May 30, 2011 04:07 PM (GCjGG)

114 I liked Mel in The Beaver.  A good flick though not fully realized in my opinion but a better movie than the lowest common denominator flicks like Hangover et al.  You want to see a real good flick check out Win Win with Paul Giamatti.

Posted by: VinylMan at May 30, 2011 04:09 PM (qRxfv)

115 So Insty had a link to somebody's best and worst war movies, and it was some commie pinko list. All the war is bad movies were best, all the classics (like Longest Day) were worst.

Posted by: blaster at May 30, 2011 04:09 PM (Fw2Gg)

116 Spoiler Alert Test! Spoiler Alert Test! This is only a Test! If this were a real Spoiler Alert, you would be redirected to a real blog for further information.

Posted by: bergerbilder at May 30, 2011 04:10 PM (S1Ttj)

117 @Joanie - you saw Happiness too, I gather.  LOL
Fuckers.  I'm STILL pissed off.

Posted by: Beth at May 30, 2011 04:13 PM (5NfIh)

118 "AMC had on "The Longest Day"  Now it's "Midway."  Spoiler alert: The good guys win."

Oh yeah?

Posted by: Howard Zinn at May 30, 2011 04:14 PM (uaEZS)

119 Yep I did, Beth. I'm contemplating getting shock treatment to have it erased from my brain.

Posted by: Joanie (Oven Gloves) at May 30, 2011 04:20 PM (y/+eD)

120 I didn't find the grossness that gross. And it wasn't actually that explicit in what it showed. But the ideas are very dark. Some quite funny parts, though.

(Some spoiler, spoiler, spoiler discussion)

I misspoke when I said ass-rape. What sex does occur is butt-sex, but it's drunken horrible-idea butt-sex, not rape. And they don't show it (except for a few non-explicit pics in the photo montage at the end). It just bothered me. The dental dork gets abused in the Hangover movies, he's the butt-monkey and that's his role. In Hangover 1 he drunkenly hooks up with a Vegas prostitute and loses a tooth. In Hangover 2 he drunkenly hooks with a Thai prostitute and gets a face tattoo. And what kind of prostitute is Thailand famous for? Right. Lady-boys.

The Dental dork is the average guy here. Cooper is the cool guy, and Zack G. is Aspergers man. So dental dork is who we identify with. And I just didn't want to hear that happened to him. And you only hear about it as they piece together the facts of the night.

But that's so far beyond crazy-bachelor-party funny thing and into horrible life-shattering thing. So it went past funny and just made me think how horrible that would be. And they made it clear that the butt-sex had, uh, concluded successfully and that he's walking around the whole movie with, uh, the after-effects inside him.

For some reason once I learned that the main-ish character has man-goo up his butt the whole movie ... I couldn't quite get that out of my head.

But part of this is the fact that butt-sex has been mainstreamed for the younger generation. This bugs me since I find it gross and am still dating and increasingly meet chicks who've done that in the past, which I find gross and just really wish they would never tell me, but they always insist on revealing that. I think for younger folk for whom butt-sex is not inherently gross, it won't bug them as much. I don't know.

Posted by: Clubber Lang at May 30, 2011 04:23 PM (QcFbt)

121

I decided to watch The Hangover on On Demand tonight. The first time I saw it, my big brother (who's 50 and should know better) thought it would be a good film for us to watch with our parents, who are 77 and 80. I sat through it thinking "Oh my God, oh my God." Probably more entertaining without the parental units.

We'll see.

Posted by: Palandine at May 30, 2011 04:25 PM (g7D8V)

122 (see also: 1998's Happiness, an awesome movie UNTIL...)

The bit with the stepdad and son?  (the guy who looked like Conn. Senator Dick Blumenthal?)

Posted by: Dave C at May 30, 2011 04:26 PM (QIvCY)

123 My big problem with Galifinakis's Mel tantrum (who, by the way, could buy and sell Galifinakis a hundred times over) was that he had no problem working with Mike Tyson. Gibson's obviously a troubled dude, but he never raped anyone that I'm aware of. Gibson doesn't have the right politics, so when he fell from grace, everyone turned on him like a pack of sharks. He isn't a tenth of the lowlife Woody Allen is, but Allen bathes in misguided adoration because he votes the right way for Hollywood.

Posted by: UGAdawg at May 30, 2011 04:37 PM (/VjHB)

124 Indeed, Dave C.

Posted by: Beth at May 30, 2011 04:41 PM (5NfIh)

125 OMG! I Just learned this. (spoiler alert) Moses is NOT Charlton Heston.

Posted by: That movie spoiler guy at May 30, 2011 05:17 PM (Dw34e)

126

Posted by: Beth at May 30, 2011 09:41 PM (5NfIh)

Yeah, that was disturbing.. 

The worst part of it all is some of the idiot commenters on IMDB were talking about how 'That movie made me feel sorry for the guy' too.. 

Posted by: Dave C at May 30, 2011 05:23 PM (QIvCY)

127 This is an excellent post. It is very informative. Thank you so much. I'll be a regular viewer. wholesale lingerie Replica Handbags

Posted by: Sexy corsets at May 31, 2011 05:05 AM (8xXp5)

Hide Comments | Add Comment

Comments are disabled. Post is locked.
132kb generated in CPU 0.27, elapsed 1.278 seconds.
62 queries taking 1.1825 seconds, 363 records returned.
Powered by Minx 1.1.6c-pink.