December 31, 2015

Forbes: A Peer-Reviewed Survey of Geoscientists Finds There's Actually a Consensus Against the Claimed "Consensus" on Global Warming
— Ace

Shut up, they lied.

Don't look now, but maybe a scientific consensus exists concerning global warming after all. Only 36 percent of geoscientists and engineers believe that humans are creating a global warming crisis, according to a survey reported in the peer-reviewed Organization Studies. By contrast, a strong majority of the 1,077 respondents believe that nature is the primary cause of recent global warming and/or that future global warming will not be a very serious problem.


...

According to the newly published survey of geoscientists and engineers, merely 36 percent of respondents fit the "Comply with Kyoto" model. The scientists in this group "express the strong belief that climate change is happening, that it is not a normal cycle of nature, and humans are the main or central cause."

The authors of the survey report, however, note that the overwhelming majority of scientists fall within four other models, each of which is skeptical of alarmist global warming claims.

While this article takes shots at conservatives for denying the apparently non-existent global warming "consensus," it then relates that the biggest sins against science are committed by liberal scientists and liberal activists trying to bully science into saying what they've decided, politically, it ought to say.


Posted by: Ace at 07:51 AM | Comments (165)
Post contains 240 words, total size 2 kb.

1 Figures.

Posted by: HH at December 31, 2015 07:53 AM (DrCtv)

2 They never asked me and I'm a geoscientist. Wait, make that a geocentrist.

Posted by: Ptolemy at December 31, 2015 07:54 AM (8ZskC)

3 I hope every single one of those liars' tongues start on fire.

Posted by: kathysaysso at December 31, 2015 07:55 AM (fMQoG)

4 BUT BUT BUT Seth Borenstein of AP found a physicist who used to doubt, but now agrees with human-caused climate change, or something like that!

So there!

Posted by: Sort-of-Mad Max at December 31, 2015 07:55 AM (DLu2s)

5 I could park a Geo if you give me two or three tries.

Posted by: Eleanor Holmes Norton at December 31, 2015 07:56 AM (3GAnN)

6 There are some articles which, when read earlier in the day, you know you're going to be seeing again in a post.  This was one. 

You can bet that Trump and Cruz are queueing this up for a response when Hill starts bleating about 97% scientific consensus on AGW.

Posted by: pep at December 31, 2015 07:56 AM (LAe3v)

7 I'll put up 100 chiropractors to their 50 geoscientists.

Posted by: Cicero (@cicero) at December 31, 2015 07:56 AM (8ZskC)

8 36% is right about the percentage of Americans who ID as Democrats.

Posted by: Pappy O'Daniel at December 31, 2015 07:56 AM (oVJmc)

9 But Galileo and evolution!!!

Posted by: [/i][/b]andycanuck[/s][/u] at December 31, 2015 07:56 AM (DLIIY)

10 3 I hope every single one of those liars' tongues start on fire.
Posted by: kathysaysso


Yes, and then Huma would literally be a liar with her pants on fire.

Posted by: pep at December 31, 2015 07:57 AM (LAe3v)

11 Are any of the scientists based in North Pole, Alaska? Asking for a red-nosed friend.

Posted by: [/i][/b]andycanuck[/s][/u] at December 31, 2015 07:57 AM (DLIIY)

12 That article seems to be from 2013. Just FYI.

Posted by: Apostate at December 31, 2015 07:58 AM (zaVwL)

13 I've been meaning for YEARS to write a comprehensive step-by-step take-down of the whole Global Warming thang, but always put it off because more respected people keep doing my work for me. Basically, it was to be a list of criteria that the Global Warming claims must ALL meet for the "crisis" to be real. If they fail to prove any one of these criteria, then it is not a crisis. Then, of course, go through and demonstrate that it meets NONE of the criteria. Maybe one day, one day.

Posted by: zombie at December 31, 2015 07:58 AM (jBuUi)

14 Can we immigrate in some new, foward-thinking scientists who will do what they are told, and be objective about it?

Posted by: MSNNBC at December 31, 2015 07:58 AM (7wyDO)

15 Gneiss.

Posted by: Garrett at December 31, 2015 07:59 AM (Et8Un)

16 Sorry for the OT: Additional pictures of massive Dubai hotel fire: http://tinyurl.com/oopptfn

Posted by: Mr Macca Bean (Ahad ha'am) at December 31, 2015 07:59 AM (BZAd3)

17 Hey, I did a scientific survey on my own about the subject, too.  Here are the results: nine out of ten climate researchers whose plush big-government grants are dependent on the existence of alarmist, man-caused climate change stated that man is causing dangerous climate change.

The remaining one out of ten didn't understand the question and needed to have it repeated, using small words.

Posted by: Qoheleth at December 31, 2015 07:59 AM (iIzG7)

18 >>That article seems to be from 2013 It's Gnu to me!

Posted by: Gary Gnu at December 31, 2015 08:01 AM (Et8Un)

19 They're minerals, Marie, not rocks!

Posted by: zombie hank schrader at December 31, 2015 08:01 AM (DLIIY)

20 Inconvenient that now 92% of scientists implicitly believe that a majority of scientists should STFU. We'll need to see the scientific formula used to arrive at that calculation.

Posted by: Mr Macca Bean (Ahad ha'am) at December 31, 2015 08:01 AM (BZAd3)

21 There is a consensus among blind elephantologists that an elephant is indeed very much like a rope, er snake, er fan, er spear, er tree trunk...er ...hell, they don't have any idea what an elephant looks like, they're blind, duh.

Posted by: Seamus Muldoon at December 31, 2015 08:01 AM (NeFrd)

22 Can we immigrate in some new, foward-thinking scientists who will do what they are told, and be objective about it? Would it be okay if they only spoke Russian?

Posted by: Trofim Lysenko at December 31, 2015 08:02 AM (8ZskC)

23 Damn that is one big fire.... wonder if it was a jihadi fire bug

Posted by: E.T. at December 31, 2015 08:02 AM (yq4gk)

24 The biggest debunking of all is this: Due to the (naturally occurring, but that's a side issue here) recent minor uptick in CO2 over the last century (as compared to the previous century, but still quite low compared to times in the more distant past - -again, a side issue here), the planet has recently been going through a "global GREENING" phase in which more plants are erupting all over the place -- especially where they are most needed, on the desert margins. More plants = more animals = increased biodiversity. Which is EXACTLY what environmentalists claim to want - -more biodiversity. So in a sane world, they should all be out in the street protesting for MORE CO2 and MORE global warming!!

Posted by: zombie at December 31, 2015 08:02 AM (jBuUi)

25 21 There is a consensus among blind elephantologists that an elephant is indeed very much like a rope, er snake, er fan, er spear, er tree trunk...er

...hell, they don't have any idea what an elephant looks like, they're blind, duh. Posted by: Seamus Muldoon


At least none of them got the elephant's pizzle.  Because that would be very uncomfortable for everyone. 

Posted by: pep at December 31, 2015 08:03 AM (LAe3v)

26 World's biggest ship now making the final approach to the Port of Oakland. Michael Bey is in one of the tugboats calling out camera-angle directions.

Posted by: zombie at December 31, 2015 08:04 AM (jBuUi)

27 @24 . . . So in a sane world-- Posted by: zombie ____________ Objection! Assuming facts not in evidence.

Posted by: Furious George at December 31, 2015 08:04 AM (3GAnN)

28 Gneiss. Posted by: Garrett ***** Perhaps, but you should never take it for granite.

Posted by: Seamus Muldoon at December 31, 2015 08:04 AM (NeFrd)

29 2013? ---- "geoscientists and engineers"? The Forbes article has all the usefulness of an article claiming a consensus by citing random IPCC editors.

Posted by: RioBravo at December 31, 2015 08:04 AM (NUqwG)

30 "At least none of them got the elephant's pizzle. Because that would be very uncomfortable for everyone."

Everyone except the elephant.  The elephant might like it.

Posted by: Qoheleth at December 31, 2015 08:04 AM (iIzG7)

31 So the science really is settled?

Posted by: rickl at December 31, 2015 08:05 AM (zoehZ)

32 It's from 2013? I guess we're slate to the story.

Posted by: [/i][/b]andycanuck[/s][/u] at December 31, 2015 08:05 AM (DLIIY)

33 I'm so sick of talking about "global warming." Who cares what polls of "scientists" say? They have a hypothesis (that evil western capitalism kills the planet), now it's on THEM to prove it. Not on me to disprove it.

Posted by: Harry Paratestes at December 31, 2015 08:05 AM (AkOaV)

34 The remaining one out of ten didn't understand the question and needed to have it repeated, using small words. Posted by: Qoheleth at December 31, 2015 12:59 PM (iIzG7) Those words were: No more sweet sweet grant money til you form the correct opinion. No more dough, none, zip, zero, nada.

Posted by: Sherry McEvil, Stiletto Corsettes now franchising Lulu Snackbars at December 31, 2015 08:05 AM (kXoT0)

35 Your all going to die along with the polar bears!!11!!

Posted by: ManBearPig at December 31, 2015 08:06 AM (La6jE)

36 Because that would be very uncomfortable for everyone. Posted by: pep **** Well, not necessarily everyone.

Posted by: Smiling Elephant at December 31, 2015 08:06 AM (NeFrd)

37 "2013?"

I'm not persuaded that the planet got that much colder/hotter/wetter in the intervening two years and change.  Glacier's pace, donchaknow.

Posted by: Qoheleth at December 31, 2015 08:06 AM (iIzG7)

38 6 You can bet that Trump and Cruz are queueing this up for a response when Hill starts bleating about 97% scientific consensus on AGW. Posted by: pep at December 31, 2015 12:56 PM (LAe3v) I thought it was 99.5% according to Obama.

Posted by: rickl at December 31, 2015 08:07 AM (zoehZ)

39 According to the newly published survey of geoscientists and engineers, merely 36 percent of respondents fit the "Comply with Kyoto" model. The scientists in this group "express the strong belief that climate change is happening, that it is not a normal cycle of nature, and humans are the main or central cause." 97% of scientists agree that that survey is bullshit. Q.E.D.

Posted by: Galactic Committee on Anthropomorphic Catastrophic Global Warming at December 31, 2015 08:07 AM (zc3Db)

40 Beware the Gnights who say Gneiss!!

Posted by: eman at December 31, 2015 08:08 AM (MQEz6)

41 It was huge news last year when they delivered just the CRANES to Oakland to be installed to unload the new generation of mega-cargo ships. The cranes were so big they had to wait until the lowest tide of the year just to get them under the Bay Bridge. Everyone gawked at their immensity. Now the cranes are installed and the first mega-ship is pulling up underneath them to be unloaded. And the ship makes those cranes look like tiny Tinker-Toys.

Posted by: zombie at December 31, 2015 08:08 AM (jBuUi)

42 I've made a fortune scaring the bejaysus out of hipster douchebags.

Posted by: ManBearPig at December 31, 2015 08:08 AM (La6jE)

43 "I thought it was 99.5% according to Obama."

According to a scientific survey, Obama is every bit as wrong about that as is is about his own approval ratings.

Posted by: Qoheleth at December 31, 2015 08:09 AM (iIzG7)

44 The remaining one out of ten didn't understand the question and needed to have it repeated, using small words. Posted by: Qoheleth at December 31, 2015 12:59 PM (iIzG7) It's like the meme: Oh, my gosh, look what we've done to the polar bears with global warming!! Yeppers, in the 1970s there were 7,000 polar bears, today there are more than 30,000, so how did we hit them that hard?

Posted by: Sherry McEvil, Stiletto Corsettes now franchising Lulu Snackbars at December 31, 2015 08:09 AM (kXoT0)

45 >>32 It's from 2013? I guess we're slate to the story. It's not Ace's Fault!

Posted by: Garrett at December 31, 2015 08:09 AM (Et8Un)

46 "It's a worm...well, no, it's a really big worm. Ewwwww!"

Posted by: Pizzle grabbing elephantologist at December 31, 2015 08:09 AM (NeFrd)

47 That was no mistake in my sock. From now on I am going to continue to call it Anthropomorphic Catastrophic Global Warming, since "anthropomorphic" is a more accurate description of what the leftists are really trying to do.

Posted by: ThePrimordialOrderedPair at December 31, 2015 08:10 AM (zc3Db)

48 You can bet that Trump and Cruz are queueing this up for a response when Hill starts bleating about 97% scientific consensus on AGW. Posted by: pep at December 31, 2015 12:56 PM (LAe3v) I thought it was 99.5% according to Obama. Posted by: rickl at December 31, 2015 01:07 PM (zoehZ) Depends on which bullshit survey (not poll) you use. If you use the informal survey of around 100 sciencey groups who received funding to study global warming -- 99.something% If you use the informal survey of 77 "scientists" who responded to the question, 'has the world gotten warmer in the last 200 years?', then you get 97%.

Posted by: Harry Paratestes at December 31, 2015 08:10 AM (AkOaV)

49 I guess we'll just have to settle this in the quartz of public opinion

Posted by: Seamus Muldoon at December 31, 2015 08:10 AM (NeFrd)

50 World's biggest ship

Guam?

Posted by: Kongrisman Hank Johnson at December 31, 2015 08:10 AM (oVJmc)

51 The universe has a fever.

Posted by: ManBearPig at December 31, 2015 08:10 AM (La6jE)

52 Man-caused global warming has always, always been a scam, just like every "environmental crisis" invented by the Left.  It's another excuse to cripple the West--those damned democracies who don't know who their betters are, and that's all it is.

Posted by: BeckoningChasm at December 31, 2015 08:11 AM (wZtOw)

53 "The universe has a fever."

Prescription: more cowbell.

Posted by: Qoheleth at December 31, 2015 08:11 AM (iIzG7)

54 I thought it was 99.5% according to Obama. Posted by: rickl at December 31, 2015 01:07 PM (zoehZ) Oh come on, 99.5%?! You need to make it a little more believable than that!

Posted by: Kim Jong-il, with a 96% approval rating at December 31, 2015 08:11 AM (AkOaV)

55 50 World's biggest ship Guam? Posted by: Kongrisman Hank Johnson It is about the same size as Guam.

Posted by: zombie at December 31, 2015 08:12 AM (jBuUi)

56 267 "Dear George Lucas, you didn't build that."

--------------
You are the best, Anna.

Posted by: exdem13 at December 31, 2015 08:12 AM (ry4ab)

57 52 Man-caused global warming has always, always been a scam, just like every "environmental crisis" invented by the Left. It's another excuse to cripple the West--those damned democracies who don't know who their betters are, and that's all it is. Posted by: BeckoningChasm at December 31, 2015 01:11 PM (wZtOw) Do you mean to tell me that Silent Spring, The Population Bomb, and Global Cooling were all bullshit? And despite identifying different "existential crisis" their "fixes" were all the same -- more socialism? You, sir, are a conspiracy theorist.

Posted by: Harry Paratestes at December 31, 2015 08:13 AM (AkOaV)

58 Posted by: Qoheleth at December 31, 2015 01:06 PM (iIzG7) ------ Regarding the particular survey though, I would say the posted comments from 2013 treat it quite fairly. I don't even have any major issues with big petroleum!

Posted by: RioBravo at December 31, 2015 08:13 AM (NUqwG)

59 The white mans stuff is what's causing all this climate bidness. We just need to take away, or redistribute, all that stuff he gots, and the probem will go way.

Posted by: goon at December 31, 2015 08:13 AM (gy5kE)

60 The High Tribunal in Matters of the AGW Faith find the writers and respondents of this article guilty of heresy.  They must forfeit all properties and chattels to the Church least they be consigned to the cold antechambers of TA Hell.

/sarc?

Posted by: Anna Puma at December 31, 2015 08:14 AM (WnA2J)

61 Denial is the highest form of blasphemy!1!

Posted by: ManBearPig at December 31, 2015 08:14 AM (La6jE)

62 Don't the scientists realize that denying global warming is a gallows offense in the short time between hellary and caliphate?

Posted by: Eromero at December 31, 2015 08:14 AM (b+df9)

63 The climate has changed quite a bit during the Holocene. All the while the carbon dioxide levels have been pretty steady. The two things do not correlate well at all. We live in a world of one scam after another, and none of our systems are safe from them, even Science. .

Posted by: eman at December 31, 2015 08:14 AM (MQEz6)

64 41 It was huge news last year when they delivered just the CRANES to Oakland to be installed to unload the new generation of mega-cargo ships.

The cranes were so big they had to wait until the lowest tide of the year just to get them under the Bay Bridge.

Everyone gawked at their immensity.

Now the cranes are installed and the first mega-ship is pulling up underneath them to be unloaded.

And the ship makes those cranes look like tiny Tinker-Toys.
--------------
And a whole bunch of Gaia-worshippers are wishing nothing would happen so the Golden Gate could fall into San Francisco Bay and help everyone return to the land and live the pure organic life without icky nasty post-industrial civilization.

Posted by: exdem13 at December 31, 2015 08:14 AM (ry4ab)

65 Silent Spring? Good ol' Rachel Carson--still killing half a million or more minority children every year.

Posted by: Furious George at December 31, 2015 08:15 AM (3GAnN)

66 "Denial is the highest form of blasphemy!1!"

Eppur si muove.

Posted by: Qoheleth at December 31, 2015 08:15 AM (iIzG7)

67 It's from 2013? I guess we're late to the story. Posted by: andycanuck at December 31, 2015 01:05 PM (DLIIY) But we got it in before 2016, which is really all that matters.

Posted by: ThePrimordialOrderedPair at December 31, 2015 08:15 AM (zc3Db)

68 All of are problems are,strangely enough, due to capitalism and cisgender male oppression.

Posted by: simplemind at December 31, 2015 08:15 AM (BTnAK)

69 Where all the white elephantologists at?

Posted by: Line of excited elephants at December 31, 2015 08:16 AM (LAe3v)

70 I move we cut all power into blue cities so they can show us the beautiful carbon-free lifestyle we can enjoy.

Posted by: Pappy O'Daniel at December 31, 2015 08:17 AM (oVJmc)

71 The Emma Maersk is the largest ship currently in service. is that the one coming into Oakland?

Posted by: Cicero (@cicero) at December 31, 2015 08:17 AM (8ZskC)

72 "It was huge news last year when they delivered just the CRANES to Oakland to be installed to unload the new generation of mega-cargo ships. The cranes were so big they had to wait until the lowest tide of the year just to get them under the Bay Bridge. Everyone gawked at their immensity."

Yep.

Cranes made in China, delivered aboard a special crane-transport ship also made in China. To unload containers made in China containing goods made in China, arriving aboard other ships made in China. Goods paid for by going into debt to China.

All your port are belong to us.

Posted by: torquewrench at December 31, 2015 08:17 AM (noWW6)

73 52 Man-caused global warming has always, always been a scam, just like every "environmental crisis" invented by the Left. It's another excuse to cripple the West--those damned democracies who don't know who their betters are, and that's all it is.
---------
We should all go back to man-drawn plows and organically fertilized fields and vegetarian paradise and dance naked around the standing stones at the time of the solstice. You know, like the good old days. That is what the Greens say to each other, and what they imply when they talk to us. I don't think that is what Obummer and Shrillary have in mind for themselves though.

Posted by: exdem13 at December 31, 2015 08:18 AM (ry4ab)

74 Zombie, where is that ship from?

Posted by: HH at December 31, 2015 08:18 AM (DrCtv)

75 70 I move we cut all power into blue cities so they can show us the beautiful carbon-free lifestyle we can enjoy. Posted by: Pappy O'Daniel _______________ Heh. Remember the old bumper sticker that was popular in Texas and Oklahoma back in the late 70s--"Let the Bastards Freeze in the Dark."

Posted by: Furious George at December 31, 2015 08:19 AM (3GAnN)

76 Glad you liked that little quip exdem13, but it truly does sum up any Hollywood effort.  Behind every loudmouth with an ego, Tarantino or Lucas, there are thousands toiling to make it work.

Posted by: Anna Puma at December 31, 2015 08:19 AM (WnA2J)

77 57 Do you mean to tell me that Silent Spring, The Population Bomb, and Global Cooling were all bullshit? And despite identifying different "existential crisis" their "fixes" were all the same -- more socialism? Posted by: Harry Paratestes at December 31, 2015 01:13 PM (AkOaV) Socialism, is there anything it can't do?

Posted by: rickl at December 31, 2015 08:19 AM (zoehZ)

78 Cranes made in China, delivered aboard a special crane-transport ship also made in China. To unload containers made in China containing goods made in China, arriving aboard other ships made in China. Goods paid for by going into debt to China. Posted by: torquewrench at December 31, 2015 01:17 PM (noWW6) ------ Thank goodness for the cheap Chinese manufactures. So many of our young immigrants would be unable to afford non-Chinese shiite.

Posted by: RioBravo at December 31, 2015 08:19 AM (NUqwG)

79 We should all go back to man-drawn plows and organically fertilized fields and vegetarian paradise and dance naked around the standing stones at the time of the solstice. You know, like the good old days.

There's some lovely filth over here!

Posted by: Dennis' wife at December 31, 2015 08:20 AM (LAe3v)

80 >> I guess we'll just have to settle this in the quartz of public opinion
>> Posted by: Seamus Muldoon at December 31, 2015 01:10 PM (NeFrd)

Given the sediments on both sides, perhaps meet in a feld to spar?

Posted by: Duncanthrax the Bellicose at December 31, 2015 08:20 AM (nSW/N)

81 Does construction of a ship that large have to take into account the curvature of the Earth?

Posted by: Seamus Muldoon at December 31, 2015 08:20 AM (NeFrd)

82 Holy hell. Anyone else watching the fire in Dubai?

Posted by: Sticky Wicket at December 31, 2015 08:20 AM (0IhFx)

83 Hillary!!11!! and I have already drawn up plans for Camp Denial. You can check out any time you'd like but you can never leave.

Posted by: ManBearPig at December 31, 2015 08:20 AM (La6jE)

84 Dennis and his wife are in the Whitehouse.

Posted by: simplemind at December 31, 2015 08:21 AM (BTnAK)

85 Oh dear, we are rocking the puns today.

Posted by: Anna Puma at December 31, 2015 08:21 AM (WnA2J)

86 Deniers!!! As usual, follow the money.

Posted by: Cheri at December 31, 2015 08:21 AM (oiNtH)

87 85 Oh dear, we are rocking the puns today. Posted by: Anna Puma at December 31, 2015 01:21 PM (WnA2J) Very tempted to join in, but will not.

Posted by: eman at December 31, 2015 08:22 AM (MQEz6)

88 Muldoon, in all probabilities the PRC building Benjamin Franklin helped them with the technology to start building another type of large ship - their second aircraft carrier.

Posted by: Anna Puma at December 31, 2015 08:22 AM (WnA2J)

89 78 Cranes made in China, delivered aboard a special crane-transport ship also made in China. To unload containers made in China containing goods made in China, arriving aboard other ships made in China. Goods paid for by going into debt to China.

Posted by: torquewrench at December 31, 2015 01:17 PM (noWW6)
------
Thank goodness for the cheap Chinese manufactures. So many of our young immigrants would be unable to afford non-Chinese shiite.
--------
Dammit guys stop saying stuff like that, it's enough to make me make Molotov cocktails.

Posted by: exdem13 at December 31, 2015 08:22 AM (ry4ab)

90 71 The Emma Maersk is the largest ship currently in service. is that the one coming into Oakland? Posted by: Cicero (@cicero) 74 Zombie, where is that ship from? Posted by: HH Info here: http://www.sfgate.com/bayarea/article/Largest-cargo-ship-coming-to-oakland-6727878.php

Posted by: zombie at December 31, 2015 08:22 AM (jBuUi)

91 Surprising exactly no one.

Posted by: Y-not (@moxiemom) at December 31, 2015 08:23 AM (t5zYU)

92 "A quarter-mile-long megaship that's the largest cargo ship ever to visit the U.S. is expected to arrive at the Port of Oakland on Thursday morning, port officials said today. The 1,300-foot-long Benjamin Franklin, the 10th largest containership in the world, was launched from a Chinese shipyard last month and arrived at the Port of Los Angeles over the weekend. It is scheduled to arrive at 10:30 a.m. Thursday at the Port of Oakland, where it will stay at Berth 24 at the Ports America Outer Harbor Terminal until Sunday afternoon or Monday morning, port officials said. The ship is operated by CMA CGM, a shipping company based in Marseille, France."

Posted by: zombie at December 31, 2015 08:23 AM (jBuUi)

93 Something I occasionally do when I have that "97% of climate scientists" stat quoted at me is to then ask the person quoting it what the source of the statistic is. I've never had it correctly attributed (though I myself know).

Another useful response is to ask them to define "climate scientist". Who qualifies? Which disciplines qualify?

Does someone who studies bugs for a living qualify? Because the IPCC have described entomologists, with no training in atmospheric physics or chemistry, as being "climate scientists" in the past.

Is someone who studies the comparative effectiveness of motorcycle helmets in reducing crash injuries a "climate scientist"? Because the IPCC have talked up that job as being one, too.

Posted by: torquewrench at December 31, 2015 08:23 AM (noWW6)

94 Does construction of a ship that large have to take into account the curvature of the Earth? What do you mean, "curvature of the Earth"?

Posted by: A Typical Science-Denying Wingnut Flat Earfer at December 31, 2015 08:24 AM (8ZskC)

95 I remember when the Global 2000 report came out in the mid-80's. Mandatory reading for any grad student. A billion dead from starvation by the year 2000. At least back then we could call BS on it and still have a professional, if spirited debate about it. Sadly, not today.

Posted by: Diogenes at December 31, 2015 08:24 AM (r65B3)

96 If the facts and science are anti-'consensus' then the facts need to be hidden and anti-'consensus' scientists need to be silenced....Right?

Posted by: Lower Class person whose opinions need to be guided at December 31, 2015 08:24 AM (3ZttN)

97 If you built the ship long enough wouldn't you just call it a bridge?

Posted by: Seamus Muldoon at December 31, 2015 08:25 AM (NeFrd)

98 Cranes made in China, delivered aboard a special crane-transport ship also made in China. To unload containers made in China containing goods made in China, arriving aboard other ships made in China. Goods paid for by going into debt to China. All your port are belong to us. Posted by: torquewrench You're harshing my merrow!

Posted by: zombie at December 31, 2015 08:25 AM (jBuUi)

99 Enough spelunking on the threads, time to get some writing done.  Have fun everyone.  And exdem13, you and Cpt Charles keep the powder dry.

http://astore.amazon.com/aoshq-20/detail/B014BTSEYO

Posted by: Anna Puma at December 31, 2015 08:25 AM (WnA2J)

100 Great name for a Chinese Ship. The Benjamin Franklin. Thx zombie.

Posted by: HH at December 31, 2015 08:26 AM (DrCtv)

101 A hot time in the 'ol Dubai town tonight!!!

Posted by: Diogenes at December 31, 2015 08:26 AM (r65B3)

102 94 Does construction of a ship that large have to take into account the curvature of the Earth? What do you mean, "curvature of the Earth"? Posted by: A Typical Science-Denying Wingnut Flat Earfer at December 31, 2015 01:24 PM (8ZskC) Man, what do YOU mean "curvature of the earth"?

Posted by: Sgt. Osiris at December 31, 2015 08:28 AM (kpqmD)

103

A hot time in the 'ol Dubai town tonight!!!

They cut away from the fire, and showed a nearby sky scraper...it was glittering, from all the camera flashes, as people tried taking pictures of the fire.

Anyway. It's a cinch it will no longer be a five star hotel.

Posted by: Sticky Wicket at December 31, 2015 08:28 AM (0IhFx)

104 Our climatologists should enter the mirror universe, desttroy all the inhabitants on mirror Earth, and then they can conduct long term experiments to see if the level of CO2 has any effect at all. Until then, they need to be guarded in their speculations.

Posted by: Evil Spock at December 31, 2015 08:28 AM (oFzGS)

105 Cranes made in China, delivered aboard a special crane-transport ship also made in China. To unload containers made in China containing goods made in China, arriving aboard other ships made in China. Goods paid for by going into debt to China. But it has an Italian captain. Wheeeeee!

Posted by: Capt. Francesco Schettino at December 31, 2015 08:28 AM (8ZskC)

106 Benjamin Frankrin?

Posted by: A Day at the Racists at December 31, 2015 08:28 AM (3GAnN)

107 103 A hot time in the 'ol Dubai town tonight!!! They cut away from the fire, and showed a nearby sky scraper...it was glittering, from all the camera flashes, as people tried taking pictures of the fire. Anyway. It's a cinch it will no longer be a five star hotel. Posted by: Sticky Wicket at December 31, 2015 01:28 PM (0IhFx) But it will always be remembered as the hottest spot in town!

Posted by: Insomniac - Pale Horse/Death 2016 at December 31, 2015 08:29 AM (kpqmD)

108 81 Does construction of a ship that large have to take into account the curvature of the Earth? Posted by: Seamus Muldoon No -- but interestingly, it DOES have to take into account the height of every bridge that might block access to every port the ship might visit. Thus, in this example, all ships must take into account the under-carriageway height of the SF-Oakland Bay Bridge and the Golden Gate Bridge, when designing the ship. And the same is true for the bridge heights at all the other major harbors. And - to come full circle - -the GG Bridge itself takes into account the curvature of the Earth (i.e. it "bends" five inches in the design of the bridge). So, in a roundabout way, the answer to your question is Yes!

Posted by: zombie at December 31, 2015 08:30 AM (jBuUi)

109 If the facts and science are anti-'consensus' then the facts need to be hidden and anti-'consensus' scientists need to be silenced....Right? That's how it worked under Stalin. Look up Lysenkoism. Cuz we're reliving it.

Posted by: Cicero (@cicero) at December 31, 2015 08:30 AM (8ZskC)

110 85 Oh dear, we are rocking the puns today. Posted by: Anna Puma --------------- I thought those punters were just stoned.

Posted by: Chi at December 31, 2015 08:30 AM (rV3zl)

111 Gneiss. Posted by: Garrett ***** Perhaps, but you should never take it for granite. Oh noes! Rock puns! That leaves me in a hard place since I don't know any!

Posted by: rickb223[/s][/i][/b] at December 31, 2015 08:30 AM (vDbXI)

112 71 The Emma Maersk is the largest ship currently in service. is that the one coming into Oakland? Posted by: Cicero (@cicero) at December 31, 2015 01:17 PM (8ZskC) I believe it's the British owned, French-flagged Benjamin Franklin. (heh.) Largest ship to ever dock at an American port.

Posted by: Harry Paratestes at December 31, 2015 08:31 AM (AkOaV)

113 punsters is a word, autocucumbe!

Posted by: Chi at December 31, 2015 08:31 AM (rV3zl)

114 But it will be a 5 Cinder hotel after this.

Good night folks!  You've been great!

Posted by: Anna Puma at December 31, 2015 08:31 AM (WnA2J)

115 Curvature of the Earth?  A ship that size is big enough to bend light around it.  I'm surprised that its propulsion system isn't fueled by eating spice from Arrakis.

Posted by: Qoheleth at December 31, 2015 08:31 AM (iIzG7)

116 >>Oh dear, we are rocking the puns today. Sorry, I'm late to the party... In my defense, I have a lot on my plate these days.

Posted by: Juan De Fuca at December 31, 2015 08:31 AM (QOhR6)

117 "We should all go back to man-drawn plows and organically fertilized fields and vegetarian paradise and dance naked around the standing stones at the time of the solstice. You know, like the good old days."

And we should stop damming and dredging rivers, and let the natural hydrologic cycle reassert itself. Oh! Wait! That's just what they have done in the UK, per EU "green" directives, for the last 15 years. And now the UK is suffering massive damage from uncontrolled undrained flooding.

"That is what the Greens say to each other, and what they imply when they talk to us. I don't think that is what Obummer and Shrillary have in mind for themselves though."

I laughed my ass off over the "organic garden" which Mooch planted on the White House grounds. They fed a bunch of the produce to local school kids before realizing that, gee, this is an old structure that's been painted a bunch of times over the last 200 years, and shit-oh-dear, the soil is full of lead residue from ancient paint. Imagine how that would have been covered during a Republican administration.

They did get what they wanted, which were glossy photo ops of Mooch holding a dirty garden trowel and a seedling. It'll be the last time anyone EVER sees her performing any such task.

Posted by: torquewrench at December 31, 2015 08:32 AM (noWW6)

118 The Benjamin Franklin ship is so massive that it cannot sail underneath the bridge from the West Bank to the Gaza Strip.

Posted by: Matt Yglesias, Voxsplainer at December 31, 2015 08:32 AM (3GAnN)

119 After this AGW bs, I have lost all respect for scientists. Med doctors, too, when they push this social justice crap.

Posted by: Bruce With a Wang! at December 31, 2015 08:32 AM (iQIUe)

120 The spirit of the beautiful American Clippers is definitely dead. That is one ugly barge.

Posted by: Cicero (@cicero) at December 31, 2015 08:32 AM (8ZskC)

121
The consensus either way of course in science doesn't matter, but if the Leftists want to use it, use it against them.

Posted by: Guy Mohawk at December 31, 2015 08:32 AM (ODxAs)

122 the GG Bridge itself takes into account the curvature of the Earth (i.e. it "bends" five inches in the design of the bridge). Just like me! --Johnny "The Wad" Holmes

Posted by: rickb223[/s][/i][/b] at December 31, 2015 08:32 AM (vDbXI)

123 My check cleared! My check cleared! I can not worry for at least the weekend. Yeah!

Posted by: Bruce With a Wang! at December 31, 2015 08:33 AM (iQIUe)

124 385 days. Time and Date dot com has a countdown to Jan 20, 2017 "It's gonna be veeeeery interesting," Artie Johnson said just before Ruth Buzzi knocked him out with her purse.

Posted by: Pierrick Vandleweis at December 31, 2015 08:33 AM (L8jPo)

125 Yeah, and they had to tear it down to keep Matt Yglesias from fishing off of it.

Posted by: Just the Altered Punchline at December 31, 2015 08:34 AM (3GAnN)

126 Posted by: Harry Paratestes at December 31, 2015 01:31 PM (AkOaV) I'm sorry, that was backwards. French owned, flying a British flag.

Posted by: Harry Paratestes at December 31, 2015 08:34 AM (AkOaV)

127 The ship is now settling in under the cranes. Time for the unionized longshoremen to take a two-and-a-half hour lunch break, before deciding to take a thee-day vacation for the holidays, after which they'll decide to take time out for a vote to go on strike for higher wages.

Posted by: zombie at December 31, 2015 08:34 AM (jBuUi)

128 Ya, that container ship is so big it can only sail down wind. A crosswind and a beam sea would tip it over.

Posted by: Pierrick Vandleweis at December 31, 2015 08:35 AM (L8jPo)

129 The spirit of the beautiful American Clippers is definitely dead. That is one ugly barge. Ooooooh! First Lady puns!

Posted by: rickb223[/s][/i][/b] at December 31, 2015 08:35 AM (vDbXI)

130 n00d, ace going on sabbatical.

Posted by: Harry Paratestes at December 31, 2015 08:36 AM (AkOaV)

131 Yo. Only one Forbes you can trust and this ain't it, yo.

Posted by: John Kerry at December 31, 2015 08:37 AM (oFzGS)

132 I'm sorry, that was backwards. French owned, flying a British flag. Was gonna say. French don't fly flags. They wave them and drop them.

Posted by: rickb223[/s][/i][/b] at December 31, 2015 08:37 AM (vDbXI)

133 Make that 97% of "climate scientists," AKA paid shills.

Posted by: BackwardsBoy[/b][/s][/u][/i] at December 31, 2015 08:39 AM (LUgeY)

134 "Is someone who studies the comparative effectiveness of motorcycle helmets in reducing crash injuries a "climate scientist"? Because the IPCC have talked up that job as being one, too."

Well, duh.

The point of helmets is to create a "safe space" for the head, and protect from "microaggressions" in the form of impacts. If you've worn a helmet, you know that it produces micro-climates around the head.

So, to review, regarding helmet researchers, we have safe spaces, microaggressions, and micro-climates. Thus, assuming the researcher isn't wearing an inappropriate shirt, making inappropriate remarks concerning lab personnel, and appropriately checking privilege, QED, we have a climate scientist.

Especially if they want their next grant.

Posted by: Duncanthrax the Bellicose at December 31, 2015 08:39 AM (nSW/N)

135 Great name for a Chinese Ship. The Benjamin Franklin. Thx zombie. Posted by: HH at December 31, 2015 01:26 PM (DrCtv) ------ The Chinamen pronounce it Benman Fwankin.

Posted by: RioBravo at December 31, 2015 08:40 AM (NUqwG)

136 Biggest fraud by med drs is that cholestrol bs.. of coarse everyones is too high ... need to fill out those prescriptions

Posted by: E.T. at December 31, 2015 08:40 AM (yq4gk)

137 >> In my defense, I have a lot on my plate these days.
>> Posted by: Juan De Fuca at December 31, 2015 01:31 PM

And you're not even German!

Posted by: Duncanthrax the Bellicose at December 31, 2015 08:42 AM (nSW/N)

138 Nothing on my plait, but my dress is ruined.

Posted by: Monica Lewinsky at December 31, 2015 08:49 AM (Et8Un)

139 70% of scientists agree that 14% of people who eat the paleo diet are 47% more likely to die 25% later than people who eat a carb heavy diet, and therefore are 81% more likely to live in a way that is 55% more damaging to the 12% of the environment that they occupy in the US, which is, of course, a country that only covers 3% of the Earth's land mass. We clearly need a new government agency dedicated to stopping these evil, destructive people.

Posted by: Sharkman at December 31, 2015 08:56 AM (QWtgr)

140 The only thing that NYMag article proved is how much liberals lack self-awareness. If she took out the pot-shots at conservatives, all you have is a book review. AGW/CC Alarmists: the Doomsday Cult that keeps changing the dates, but never the rhetoric.

Posted by: Nutsy the Buzzard at December 31, 2015 09:07 AM (lJJaE)

141 The Climate Change fetishists can lie and flagellate themselves before the 3rd world all the want if their goal is to bring these savages into line.  Just don't expect me to buy this line of horseshit. 

It's voodoo economics for Marxist geeks.

Posted by: Fritz at December 31, 2015 09:07 AM (UzPAd)

142 Of the 36% who said yes; how many are being directly funded to support AGW based research?

Posted by: Jean at December 31, 2015 09:29 AM (fBkaR)

143 According to a scientific survey, Obama is every bit as wrong about that as is is about his own approval ratings.
Posted by: Qoheleth


Wait till he reads about that in the newspaper.  Boy, will he be mad then.

Posted by: Bossy Conservative...a rube in America at December 31, 2015 09:37 AM (+1T7c)

144 It's all about cash flowing to the 3rd world country's,Forget SMOD I want a ice sheet to cover New York

Posted by: Skip at December 31, 2015 09:39 AM (C1Suc)

145 You mean that 2013 ... the one that was 2 almost 3 years ago?  Hey, it didn't seem to work so let's try it again.

Posted by: Hepcat at December 31, 2015 09:39 AM (IeR2g)

146 How long before those geoscientists and engineers are stripped of gubmint funding and credentials and then duck marched to the gulag?

Posted by: Hank at December 31, 2015 09:41 AM (AqfcR)

147 Hank, they probably already lost their government funding when they didn't genuflect deeply enough at the altar of AGW.

Posted by: Jean at December 31, 2015 09:49 AM (fBkaR)

148 You may not be interested in global warming, but global warming is very interested in you.

Posted by: Ostral B Heretic at December 31, 2015 10:30 AM (5zyvn)

149 So this is not as damning as it looks. The study is of geoscientists and engineers of Alberta, an oil-heavy province in Canada, so it's not a global survey by any means. The point of these guys is to show how evil the oil industry is by warping even the minds of scientifically inclined people. I still say that's b/s. The authors didn't provide a control group to compare against, simply asserting that the IPCC consensus is correct with no way to determine whether Alberta is significantly different from anyone else. Furthermore, to the extent that people in petroleum ARE influenced by the petroleum industry to want to believe that it's fine to do what they're doing (which it is), they haven't then taken the obvious opposite tack and asked the very simple question: does such a behavioral bias then also affect climate scientists whose entire life work is dependent on climate alarmism at the highest levels of government?

Posted by: CMG The US Frenchy at December 31, 2015 10:34 AM (qBzA/)

150 Ace, as a New Year's present, I give you this story on soon-former Senator Marco Rubio's soon-to-be-destroyed GOP nomination campaign: http://tiny.cc/voqr7x

Posted by: Thnx For The Fish & Online Porn at December 31, 2015 10:54 AM (lqeGC)

151 Hey if you give me Mooch and a harness to tie her to a plow, I could give up my two mule team. Gee Haw Moochie, let's get down that row of veggies.

Posted by: Comanche Voter at December 31, 2015 11:23 AM (Sda6L)

152 They could have built the giant cranes that offload the giant ship here in America. But no, they had to have them built in China. Too expensive here.

Posted by: Hank at December 31, 2015 11:40 AM (AqfcR)

153 They could have built the giant cranes that offload the giant ship here in America. But no, they had to have them built in China. Too expensive here.

Posted by: Hank at December 31, 2015 04:40 PM (AqfcR)

If the US Government charged the same net tax on imports as it charges for domestically produced goods and services it would have cost 25% more to make the cranes abroad and ship them here.

Posted by: Burnt Toast at December 31, 2015 12:24 PM (T78UI)

154 This professional geologist certainly thinks that AGW is total crap.

Posted by: TexasJew at December 31, 2015 12:35 PM (N7G17)

155 A strong consensus of climate scientists, whose careers depend entirely on the existence of global warming, agree that global warming is real.

Posted by: Socratease at December 31, 2015 12:39 PM (2GbWn)

156 I have an engineering degree and am a skeptic, but this is a consensus of geo-engineers from Alberta, Canada and the Forbes article is 3 yrs old. Most of those guys likely work in mining and oil...not your typical scientists who study climate.

Posted by: MostlyRight at December 31, 2015 12:43 PM (IouVP)

157 I cannot imagine a geologist tha doesn't KNOW that AGW is total crap.

Well, the part about significant AGW.

Posted by: Burnt Toast at December 31, 2015 01:01 PM (T78UI)

158 The point of these guys is to show how evil the oil industry is by warping even the minds of scientifically inclined people. Posted by: CMG The US Frenchy --- Well, then it's entirely plausible that the minds of scientifically inclined people can also be warped by the UN's scheme to bleed the West dry.

Posted by: RKae at December 31, 2015 01:24 PM (Wt4BP)

159 Engineers ? The people who drive trains don't believe in AGW? I think. Maybe that 97% consensus was only referring to climatologists. Not train drivers

Posted by: Bubba at December 31, 2015 03:19 PM (ytIUA)

160 Here's how we do it.

Acknowledge Global Warming is huge threat. 

Send all the Global Warming advocates to the Poles to gather irrefutable evidence of the crisis.

When they get stuck in the growing icepacks, leave them there.

Posted by: Richard McEnroe at December 31, 2015 04:42 PM (Kucy5)

161

Here's how we do it.

Acknowledge Global Warming is huge threat.

Send all the Global Warming advocates to the Poles to gather irrefutable evidence of the crisis.

When they get stuck in the growing icepacks, leave them there.

Posted by: Richard McEnroe at December 31, 2015 09:42 PM (Kucy5)

-----

I like the cut of your jib.

Posted by: Darth Randall at December 31, 2015 05:30 PM (KlVdw)

162 A "survey" of Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta. The article was written by a hack from the Heartland Institute. Do you have fun having anal sex with facts, facts pitching, you catching?

Posted by: Mr Czolgosz at January 01, 2016 10:20 AM (lc2RB)

163 Ace, commit humorous suicide now, please.

Posted by: Mr Czolgosz at January 01, 2016 10:22 AM (lc2RB)

164 This is embarrassing. Come on Ace, this thing is three years old and seriously misrepresents the original article. You need to issue an apology, Ace, for posting this crap.

Posted by: Donald R. Vance at January 01, 2016 10:46 AM (BPltj)

165 Nature? Did any actually say why they thought itvwascgetting hotter? Like is it the Sun?

Posted by: Bubba at January 02, 2016 03:22 AM (pMsDu)

Hide Comments | Add Comment




What colour is a green orange?




143kb generated in CPU 0.17, elapsed 1.3242 seconds.
64 queries taking 1.214 seconds, 403 records returned.
Powered by Minx 1.1.6c-pink.